F&G Southland, after seeking legal counsel, have applied to the Environment Court for a reversal of the decision to allow the cycle trail alongside the upper Oreti River.

We believe there are sufficient inconsistencies in the 2012 and 2015 decisions against and for the cycle trail, respectively, and inadequate consideration of the proposed alternative Mararoa route to warrant this challenge.

Upper Oreti River Cycle Trail Decision

Much to our dismay, Commissioner Denis Nugent has given the go-ahead for the revised cycle trail alongside and over the upper Oreti.  The full details of his decision can be found at

Whilst his previous decision to refuse resource consent for the 2012 cycle trail submission was based on adverse effects to the angling amenity, economy and environment none of these now seem to be at issue.

Around the Mountain Cycle Trail & The Oreti River

Irrespective of the Commissioner’s final decision on whether Southland District Council can proceed to build a cycleway and structures alongside and over the upper Oreti River, the Federation would like to express its pride in and thanks to all those who have submitted against this portion of the cycle trail.

The following is a roll call of honour to all those anglers, from all around the WORLD who put in time and effort to make a submission:  Jarred Martin, Matthew Boydell, Russ Willekedina, Gavin Buchanan, Simon Wilkinson, Simon Svahn, Wyndham Angling Club, Nathaniel Wilcox, David Lambroughton, Frode Roee, John Murray, Chris Dore, Robert Wyatt, Iza Haspela, Tapani Mikola, David Screen,  Leea Ylitalo, Sergio Morales, Darren Asquith, Marc Cohen, Alan Greig, Robert Hakansson, Alan Petrie,  Future Rivers Trust, Duncan MacPherson, Kym Goldsworthy, Michael Martyn, Ross Laybourn, Robert Roney, James Yates, Hugh Driver, Bruno Hergott, Grant Slinger, Anthony Loader, Douglas Cook, Oliver Styles, Mark Newcomb, Tony Orman, Matthieu Cotteret, Andrew Cooke, Neil Martin (Warrnambool Fly Fishers Club), Matthew Cole, Robert Bradford, Joseph A Dillinger, Roland Ellis, Daniel Larsson, Frank Yardley, David Begg, Michael Kearney, Phillip Owen, Andrew Rankin, Andrew Harding, Geoff Allen, Paul Incani, Harvey Buckley, Russell McKendry, Ryan Anglin,  John James O’Dea, Barry Perkins, Alison Harvey, James Miller, Glenn Best, Michael Harvey, Luke Payne, Stephen Corcoran, Nick Moody, Serge Bonnafoux, Brett Wheldon, Rob Blackbeard, Richard Ball, Peter Baker, James Screen, Dean Phibbs, Jeremy Coombes, Dean Bell, Lex Lawrence, Ian Cole, Hans Kreuer, Max Gallagher, Paul Fleet, Dr Martin Lourey, Graeme Watson, Ian Breeze, Johnny Mauchline, Paul Macandrew, Dean Whaanga, Ben Davies, Kevin Carston, Robert & Jana Bowler, Tim Howard, Craig Smith (on behalf of the NZ Professional Fishing Guides Association), Ronan Creane, Joe Creane, Marius Stenseth, Peter Sayers, Anthony Stevens, Craig Minehan, Silvio Caldelari, Paul Start, Dave Harris, Rick Gerrard, Hamiora Taite, Jim Hanley, James Hobson, Lawton Weber, Michael Hartstonge, Rick Boyd (Upper Clutha Angling Club), Lindsay Withington,  Dave Harris (Southland Fishing Club), Jocelyn Hodges,  Angelo Piller, Mike Wilson, Chris Rance, Alex Blanden, Mark Adamson, Corey Carston, Paul Stenning, Regan Smith, Peter Wilkinson, Casey Cravens, Oddvar Vermedal & Geir Sogn-Grundvag, Bill Jarvie, John O’Malley, Ron Peacock, Duncan Wilcox, Dave Witherow, William Bartlett, Gary Kirkman, Torkjel Landas, Gavin Gilder

…and of course Jacob Smyth, Stu Sutherland and Maurice Rodway of Southland Fish & Game